Sycamore Speedway ehwt(op) 2015
Wasco Nursery April 2015-16
Lions 2015-2016 (2)

Elburn Herald | Sugar Grove Herald

Trillium Sept2015
Seattle Sutton indf
KC Flea Market – Nov. 2015
Paisano’s Indf
Ream’s through May 2015
Category archive

Community - page 9


Elburn residents graduate from Augustana College

ROCK ISLAND, ILL.—The following Elburn residents earned degrees from Augustana College during its spring commencement ceremony on May 24: Edgardo Valle (engineering physics), Kristina Bowen (cum laude, biology and environmental studies) and Benjamin Hodges (magna cum laude, biology). Keep Reading


Mathys named to dean’s list

LEXINGTON, KEN.—Rachel Mathys of Elburn was recently named to the University of Kentucky dean’s list in the College of Arts & Sciences. A psychology major and member of UK’s Psychology Scholar’s program, Mathys closed out her freshman year with a 4.0 GPA. Keep Reading


Local residents named to Augustana College dean’s list

ROCK ISLAND, ILL.—The following local residents were named to the Augustana College dean’s list for the 2015 spring term: Kristina Bowen, Melissa Cherry, Benjamin Hodges and Elizabeth Kupar, all of Elburn; and Chelsie Dean, Malory Groen, Anna Novotny and Eileen Ruppel and Kylie Siebert, all of Sugar Grove. Students who have earned this academic honor… Keep Reading


Local residents graduate from Bradley University

PEORIA, ILL.—The following local residents earned degrees from Bradley University during its commencement ceremony on May 16: Daniel Bauerbach (Bachelor of Science) and Taylor Lakin (Bachelor of Science) of Elburn, and Alexander Vallejo (Bachelor of Science in electrical engineering) and Alexander Weiss (Bachelor of Science in mechanical engineering) of Sugar Grove. Keep Reading

David Allison photo
2015 Obituaries

David J. Allison

David J. Allison, 63, passed away on June 29, 2015, in Denver, where he lived and worked as a paralegal for over two decades. David grew up in Elburn with his family and a menagerie of pets, including dogs, cats, a pony, monkeys, reptiles, fish and other exotic creatures. He graduated from Kaneland High School… Keep Reading

2015 Obituaries

Katherine Lee Maxstadt

Katherine Lee Maxstadt, 62, of Bloomingdale, Ill., passed peacefully into the arms of her Savior on Monday, June 29, 2015. She was born Dec. 4, 1952, in Sycamore, to parents Leo and Naomi Maxstadt. She grew up in the Virgil and Lily Lake area and attended local schools. Katherine graduated from St. Charles High School… Keep Reading

2015 Obituaries

Lucille Marguerite ‘Cindy’ Cornell

Lucille Marguerite “Cindy” Cornell, 91, of Elburn, formerly of St. Charles, ascended to her heavenly home on Monday, July 6, 2015. Cindy embodied the phrase, “Angel among us,” and the world will be poorer for her absence. She was born Jan. 19, 1924, the daughter of John and Florence (Helburg) McConnaughay. Cindy grew up in… Keep Reading

2015 Obituaries

Eugene Arthur Waterstreet

Eugene Arthur Waterstreet, 90, of Burlington Township, Ill., passed away Friday evening, July 3, 2015. He was born Jan. 22, 1925, in Pecatonica, Ill., the son of Arthur and Vivian (Van Horn) Waterstreet. Following high school graduation, Gene enlisted with the Navy to serve as a radio operator during World War ll. On completion of… Keep Reading

Davis px

Davis participates in National Columbia Junior Show

FAIRMONT, MINN.—Morgan Davis (right) of Elburn was among 28 exhibitors from across the country to participate in the 2015 National Columbia Junior Show in Fairmont, Minn. This was Davis’ first year participating in the Junior Show, and she showed a spring ram lamb of her family’s, as well as her own spring ewe lamb, which… Keep Reading


Local residents named to NIU dean’s list

DEKALB—The following local residents were named to the Northern Illinois University dean’s list for the spring 2015 semester: Lindsey Dodis, Amanda Helfers, Tyler Hilton, Courtney Kowalski, Austin McElderry, Konstantin Paraskevov, Richard Rivard and Linnea Scherer, all of Elburn; Michelle Bird, Erin Hernandez and Emily Neely, all of Sugar Grove; and Madeline Greene, Kristina Scarpitti and… Keep Reading


Local residents awarded Waubonsee scholarships

SUGAR GROVE—Waubonsee Community College Foundation recently provided 255 scholarship awards, totaling over $198,500, to 200 recipients for the 2015-16 academic year. The following local residents received a scholarship. • Aurora Noon Lions Club Scholarship: Brittany Grider, Sugar Grove • Evar Erickson Memorial Endowed Scholarship: Caitrin Mills, Elburn • Faville Family Endowed Scholarship: Michael Deja, Sugar… Keep Reading


Rodriguez celebrate 60th wedding anniversary

Daisy Carmen Lucia Perez-Gonzalez married Roberto Rodriguez-Rodriguez on a Sabado de Gloria in Habana, Cuba, on April 9, 1955. On their wedding day, she wore a short-sleeved white laced dress, fitted at the waist, with an imperial collar and a full skirt that ended just below her knees. She also wore matching bridal gloves—or mitones,… Keep Reading


Local residents graduate from NIU

DEKALB—The following local residents earned degrees from Northern Illinois University at the conclusion of the spring 2015 semester: Zachary Beale (Bachelor of Science), Scott Proctor (B.S.), Lindsey Dodis (B.S.), Garrett Reigel (B.S.), Kathleen Hannemann (Master of Science in Education), Jon Gustafson (Bachelor of Science), Danielle Micek (Bachelor of Arts), Richard Rivard (B.A.) and Emily Heine… Keep Reading


Local students named to Lewis University dean’s list

ROMEOVILLE, ILL.—The following local residents were named to the Lewis University dean’s list for the spring 2015 semester: Alec Koczka (aviation administration) and Abigail Dodis (biochemistry) of Elburn, and Richard Krasuski (information technology management) of Sugar Grove. Keep Reading


Pettyjohn named to Belmont dean’s list

NASHVILLE—Emma Pettyjohn of Sugar Grove was recently named to the Belmont University dean’s list for the spring 2015 semester. Dean’s list eligibility is based on a minimum course load of 12 hours and a quality grade point average of 3.5 with no grade below a C. Keep Reading


Zankowski named to Iowa State dean’s list

AMES, IOWA—Kyle T. Zankowski of Elburn was recently named to the Iowa State dean’s list for the 2015 spring semester. Zankowski is majoring in kinesiology and health. Students named to the dean’s list must have earned a grade point average of at least 3.5 on a 4.0 scale while carrying a minimum of 12 credit… Keep Reading


Thomas graduates from St. Ambrose University

DAVENPORT, IOWA—Holly Thomas of Sugar Grove in May graduated summa cum laude from St. Ambrose University with a degree in mechanical engineering. A total of 680 degrees, including 490 bachelor’s degrees, 188 master’s degrees and two doctoral degrees, were conferred during the ceremony. Keep Reading

1 7 8 9 10 11 119
Go to Top